This only works if there are only Italian aricraft scrambling. I usually use two fighters from the United Kingdom terirtory, and the fighter from Malta-the fighter from Girbraltar should be used along with the cruiser off of Girbraltar (it takes three submarines to have more than an 80% chance to kill it, my normal standard to win a battle, so the submarines are usually used for easier prey in the north, especially if Germany attacks the Soviet Union in the first turn, which will nessecitate one submarine in sea zone 125) to destroy the Italian navy off of Malta. If a German aircraft lands in Southern Italy, I usually will call of the attack, as there is a less than 80% chance to win. All of this assumes Germany invades the Soviet Union in the first turn.
Navel Battle w/ only AC fighters left.
-
Here’s the senerio. ANZAC conducts a navel battle against Japan in SZ 54.
ANZAC
3 Fighters
1 CruiserJAPAN
1 AC w/ 1 fighter & 1 tac
1 DestroyerAfter the 3rd round of combat and miserable dice on both sides, ANZAC is left w/ 1 fighter. Japan has both planes left.
Here’s the question -can ANZAC, as the attacker, retreat from the battle? This would leave the Japan planes w/o a place to land thus having to “ditch” the planes.
-
ANZAC can certainly do that. In fact, the planes would even have been lost if the AC would just have been damaged but otherwise still afloat. Depending on the situation, if I were ANZAC and Japan would have taken a hit on the AC during an earlier round, I would probably have retreated immediately after that round without even trying to kill the DD or the damaged AC, to inflict a good deal of damage on Japan while denying those planes further opportunities to shoot at that ANZAC units.
-
If your opponent makes the mistake of taking a hit on an AC with no place to land the planes, retreating is a risk-free way of getting yourself free plane kills.
-
Thanks guys. That’s what I understood the rules to convey. My opponent thought that because it was a navel battle, there was no retreat. I explained that that was only true for landings from sea, but he did not believe me.
-
You can’t retreat from amphibious landings; but remember if you have a mixed land and sea force in an amphibious invasion, and all the amphibious participants have been destroyed, the remaining units over air and ground CAN then retreat, I believe.
He has 1 space to get the planes to survive, so that’s a good reason to stick close to the coast or a friendly island
-
You can’t retreat from amphibious landings; but remember if you have a mixed land and sea force in an amphibious invasion, and all the amphibious participants have been destroyed, the remaining units over air and ground CAN then retreat, I believe.
That’s correct.
@rulebook:
Keep the attacking overland units and seaborne land units
separated on the battle strip. Attacking seaborne units
can’t retreat. Attacking overland land units and air units
can retreat (between rounds of combat). All attacking
overland land units must retreat together as a group. -
You can’t retreat from amphibious landings; but remember if you have a mixed land and sea force in an amphibious invasion, and all the amphibious participants have been destroyed, the remaining units over air and ground CAN then retreat, I believe.
That’s almost 100% correct.
In a mixed assault, where some ground forces are arriving amphibiously and others are arriving overland, the overland forces can ALWAYS retreat between rounds of combat, regardless of whether or not the forces arriving amphibiously have been destroyed or not.
Marsh
-
Yes thank you for the reminder Marsh and Panther. If they retreat separate from the undestroyed amphibious units, the amphibious units are left entirely on their own.
-
Yes thank you for the reminder Marsh and Panther. If they retreat separate from the undestroyed amphibious units, the amphibious units are left entirely on their own.
Yep. That’s the kind of signal you don’t want to receive if you’re in those amphibious units…
Marsh
-
@Marshmallow:
Yes thank you for the reminder Marsh and Panther. If they retreat separate from the undestroyed amphibious units, the amphibious units are left entirely on their own.
Yep. That’s the kind of signal you don’t want to receive if you’re in those amphibious units…
Marsh
They should have gotten a clue when they got assigned to the 146th Fodder Division
-
You can’t retreat from amphibious landings; but remember if you have a mixed land and sea force in an amphibious invasion, and all the amphibious participants have been destroyed, the remaining units over air and ground CAN then retreat, I believe.
He has 1 space to get the planes to survive, so that’s a good reason to stick close to the coast or a friendly island
I disagree on the last part, see text in rulebook.
Retreating air units remain in the contested space temporarily. They complete their retreat movement during the Noncombat Move phase using the same rules as an air
unit involved in a successful battle.So in other words they can use there remaining movement.
-
Sorry my misstake, depends on if you are attacking of defending.
Defending 1 space
Attacking spaces left of movementAnother question: can an A-C move 2 with planes and than move the planes 4 more, i gues not if i am reading it the rigth way, but Some conformation would be nice.
-
You read the rules correctly - the fighters movement is counted from their position at the start of the turn MarkoV
-
Here’s the question -can ANZAC, as the attacker, retreat from the battle? This would leave the Japan planes w/o a place to land thus having to “ditch” the planes.
Yes. Providing that Queensland is either in Allied hands or has/will only be taken this round. Point is that if Queensland is a valid landing space for Japanese planes, they don’t ditch.