• Official Q&A

    @tin_snips:

    the rulebook just says that china gets 1 infantry for every 2 territories that aren’t under Axis control, including any it has re-captured. so if China captures Manchuria in its turn, and already has 7 territories, does it get the extra infantry that very turn?

    No.  Chinese infantry are awarded during the Purchase Units phase, so only territories controlled at the beginning of the turn count.

    @tin_snips:

    also, can the Chinese infantry be placed in any territories that China just captured/had returned to it?

    Yes.

  • Official Q&A

    @JWW:

    @Imperious:

    [Thats why they have the double bombing limit, [/quote]

    Please explain, the double bombing limit?

    The maximum damage that an industrial complex can sustain at one time is twice the IPC value of the territory.

  • Official Q&A

    @Krieghund:

    @J2004823:

    Situation: Bomber carrying a paratrooper, moving into a hostile territory. This hostile territory has an AA gun.

    Question: Which one happens first, AA gun fires on bomber with cargo, or the paratrooper jumps off first then AA gun fires?

    In unit profile rulebook p.25, it says “This special attack is made immediately before normal combat occurs in the territory containing the antiaircraft gun.” Sounds like paratrooper can jump off first. However, I would like to hear opinions from other. Many thanks.

    Since dropping the infantry is done at the end of Combat Movement and AA fire occurs immediately before combat (in the Combat phase), the infantry will be dropped before the AA gun fires, thus it is safe.

    I’ve talked this over with Larry, and this was not the intent of the rule, even though that’s how it’s worded.  Paratroopers should be eliminated if their bomber is hit by AA fire.  This will be corrected in the FAQ with an erratum shortly.


  • Many thanks Krieghund. I did have a hard time to convenience others on the “jump first” privilege. :)

    Remember the flowchart I did before?

    http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=12601.0;attach=30220

    I will suggest drop off paratroopers take place in the “Check Special Abilities”, right after AA Gun opened fire. Inside “Check Special Abilities”, the sequence can be:
    (1) Checking Destroyer’s presence
    (2) Submarine Surprise Attack / Submerge
    (3) AA Gun open fire
    (4) Bomber drop off paratroopers

    Hopefully, this shall clear things up a bit.


  • @J2004823:

    Remember the flowchart I did before?

    Maybe also add “attacker retreat” as a full box, with explanation of what is permitted and what is not permitted? Unless this is more detail then you intended with the flow chart.


  • During an amphibious assault, can land units retreat to certain death? I know that they cannot retreat back to the transport or to an adjacent territory from which other land units attacked, but a) must they fight on or b) can they retreat to certain death. This came up a lot in revised when I was playing allies and I wanted the UK to “soften up” Sweden/Norway for the Americans. The reason being I wanted the USA to take it so they can build a factory, since they had the production capacity. I did NOT want the UK to take the territory, so I would attack, and then once I’d knocked out some german units (but not all), I could retreat the land units to certain watery death. Was this correct? Or are they forced to keep fighting, with the possibility of (accidentally) capturing the territory?


  • Similar question, I think it was covered before but not exactly to my satisfaction. Can paratroopers retreat with other land units, assuming there were attacking land units from an adjacent territory? Or is it similar to amphibious assaults, where if you come by ship, you cannot retreat.

    If it is the latter, I have a similar question to the above, since the units CAN’T retreat, are they FORCED to keep fighting? I mean, if I’m trying to “soften up” a territory, can I just have the poor guys kill themselves after a certain while, since I don’t want them to ACTUALLY capture the territory.

    Sorry for the morbid post.


  • More questions:

    1. Do non-IPC-valued territories (like Iwo Jima) count toward the UK National Objective if captured by an Ally?

    2. 1 Sub vs. 1 Sub: How the heck does this work.

    3. Wait, you cannot place a newly purchased plane onto an adjacent allied carrier? (Covered before, just double checking)

    4. Wait, China can place units in newly captured territory? That’s crap. That goes against my natural A&A intuition.

    5. I guess I just don’t understand the sub surprise attack EVERY round of combat. We’ve always played just the first round, and then it becomes like any other ship. I mean, after the first round, it’s no longer a surprise! Come on, that battleship is like, “You JUST shot a torpedo at me and missed, I know exactly where you are, you ain’t foolin’ nobody.”

  • Official Q&A

    @TexCapPrezJimmy:

    During an amphibious assault, can land units retreat to certain death? I know that they cannot retreat back to the transport or to an adjacent territory from which other land units attacked, but a) must they fight on or b) can they retreat to certain death. This came up a lot in revised when I was playing allies and I wanted the UK to “soften up” Sweden/Norway for the Americans. The reason being I wanted the USA to take it so they can build a factory, since they had the production capacity. I did NOT want the UK to take the territory, so I would attack, and then once I’d knocked out some german units (but not all), I could retreat the land units to certain watery death. Was this correct? Or are they forced to keep fighting, with the possibility of (accidentally) capturing the territory?

    No, they can’t retreat.  There are no “suicide squads”.

    @TexCapPrezJimmy:

    Similar question, I think it was covered before but not exactly to my satisfaction. Can paratroopers retreat with other land units, assuming there were attacking land units from an adjacent territory? Or is it similar to amphibious assaults, where if you come by ship, you cannot retreat.

    If they attack with other land units that attacked by land, they can retreat along with those units.  If they attack alone, or with only amphibiously assaulting land units, they can’t retreat.

    @TexCapPrezJimmy:

    1. Do non-IPC-valued territories (like Iwo Jima) count toward the UK National Objective if captured by an Ally?

    Yes.

    @TexCapPrezJimmy:

    1. 1 Sub vs. 1 Sub: How the heck does this work.

    First the attacker decides whether to fire or submerge.  If he/she decides to submerge, the battle is over.  If not, the defender decides whether to fire or submerge.  If he/she decides to submerge, the battle is over.  If not, both the attacker and the defender fire, and casualties are removed.  If one or both hits, the battle is over.  If not, the process repeats from the beginning.

    @TexCapPrezJimmy:

    1. Wait, you cannot place a newly purchased plane onto an adjacent allied carrier? (Covered before, just double checking)

    No.

    @TexCapPrezJimmy:

    1. Wait, China can place units in newly captured territory? That’s crap. That goes against my natural A&A intuition.

    Sorry, that’s how it is.

    @TexCapPrezJimmy:

    1. I guess I just don’t understand the sub surprise attack EVERY round of combat. We’ve always played just the first round, and then it becomes like any other ship. I mean, after the first round, it’s no longer a surprise! Come on, that battleship is like, “You JUST shot a torpedo at me and missed, I know exactly where you are, you ain’t foolin’ nobody.”

    It’s just the advantage that subs get if there are no enemy destroyers.


  • @Krieghund:

    @TexCapPrezJimmy:

    1. 1 Sub vs. 1 Sub: How the heck does this work.

    … If not, the attacker fires.  If he/she hits, the battle is over.  If not, the defender fires.  If he/she hits, the battle is over. …

    I’m completely confused now. On page 30 of the rulebook is stated “If both players have submarines, all the submarines get to fire a surprise strike before taking casualities”.

    So up to now I interpreted this as follows: If as well attacker as defender decide not to submerge, both fire their surprise strike “at the same time”. So why should the defender in this 1 Sub vs. 1 Sub situation take his sub as casuality before firing his surprise strike? Am I wrong?

  • Official Q&A

    You’re right.  I don’t know what I was thinking!  :-o

    I’ll fix it.


  • @TexCapPrezJimmy:

    @J2004823:

    Remember the flowchart I did before?

    Maybe also add “attacker retreat” as a full box, with explanation of what is permitted and what is not permitted? Unless this is more detail then you intended with the flow chart.

    Thanks for your suggestion.

    My aim was to create a game aid to regulate the flow of a combat. The initial motivation was to solve many confusions around submarines’ surprise attack and destroyer’s anti-sub ability. However, I encountered another problem when I was trying to map Step 5. Press Attack or Retreat into my flowchart. Step 5. Press Attack or Retreat (rulebook p.9) has been designed as a conditional loop. Nevertheless, these two conditions are not equal. Condition A is purely a condition, whereas Condition B involves retreat resolving. Therefore, I chose to restructure the flow: splitting Step 5 into mutiple condition checks, combining retreat resolving into Step 6. Since the combat is over once the attacker decides to retreat, there is nothing illogical to merge retreat resolving into Step 6. Conclude Combat. It is the best compromise I can think of.

    To accommodate your suggestion, simply detail Step 6. Conclude Combat will do. However, as you mentioned, Step 6 has more things than my original flowchart can catch. As simple as caputring a territory may involve capturing, liberating, capital liberating, capital occupied by enemy, exchanging vitory city token, or achieving/failing national objectives. I will need a new flowchart to list all these possible outcomes.

  • 2007 AAR League

    if the uk takes france does the usa get to place a bonus no marker in france as well?

  • Official Q&A

    There are no NO markers, but the US does get the bonus.

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    So if France falls, BOTH England AND America get the NO?  I thought it was either or!


  • nah, it says if ‘allies’ control. so the bonus is for all of them that have it mentioned in their NO’s


    1. Is the “limit of 3 chinese unit rule” consider a) when determining how many units are created (purchased) b) after combat phase or c) after non-combat phase? (I think not answered, but I may be mistaken.)

    2. In the 1942 setup, are the initial control markers permanent or is the original controller considered the paint on the board? (already answered, but answer was contrary to what I read in the rulebook.)

    3. If you liberate a territory of an ally, whose capital is captured, you gain those points and can build in any factories that are in that territory, up until the ally capital is liberated, in which case the ally regains control. But what about just moving into a territory of an ally, whose capital is captured, where that territory has never been captured by an enemy. In other words, in order to gain IPC and be able to build in an ally territory, do you need to re-capture it or can you just move into it?

  • Official Q&A

    @TexCapPrezJimmy:

    1. Is the “limit of 3 chinese unit rule” consider a) when determining how many units are created (purchased) b) after combat phase or c) after non-combat phase? (I think not answered, but I may be mistaken.)

    It affects only the placement of new units in the Mobilize Units phase.

    @TexCapPrezJimmy:

    1. In the 1942 setup, are the initial control markers permanent or is the original controller considered the paint on the board? (already answered, but answer was contrary to what I read in the rulebook.)

    Per the FAQ, the original controller of a territory is considered to be the controller printed on the map, regardless of the scenario being played.  China is considered to be the original controller of Manchuria and Kiangsu.

    @TexCapPrezJimmy:

    1. If you liberate a territory of an ally, whose capital is captured, you gain those points and can build in any factories that are in that territory, up until the ally capital is liberated, in which case the ally regains control. But what about just moving into a territory of an ally, whose capital is captured, where that territory has never been captured by an enemy. In other words, in order to gain IPC and be able to build in an ally territory, do you need to re-capture it or can you just move into it?

    If it still belongs to your ally, you can’t capture it.  It remains his/hers until it’s captured by the enemy.  You can only gain control of it by capturing it from the enemy while your ally’s capital is in enemy hands.


  • Krieg I think his 2nd question referred to all the UK territories in the Pacific that Japan starts out with in the '42 scenario.


  • @Imperious:

    as far as the first strike option the rules say its on the first round ONLY.

    Was this changed?

    It appears the Errata (top of page 3) changed this to "Submarines get a suprise first strike in every round of combat in which no enemy destroyers are present.

    http://www.wizards.com/AvalonHill/rules/AxAl-AnEd_Errata.pdf

    Can anyone confirm?

    This seems to completely override/overrule the rulebook.

Suggested Topics

Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

176

Online

17.2k

Users

39.5k

Topics

1.7m

Posts