I’m playing the global 1940 second edition. The rules say that any Japanese built manufacturing in Chinese territories is removed when China or another ally liberates the territory. They also say that the only non-Chinese territories China is allowed in are Kwangtung and Burma. In my current game, Japan captured both Kwangtung and India, and built manufacturing in Kwangtung. China liberated Kwangtung while India was still under Japanese control. In this case, the rules allow China to control Kwangtung until India is liberated, but what happens to the manufacturing in Kwangtung? I feel that the rules are very clear about Kwangtung not being a Chinese territory, therefore the manufacturing should stay. My opponent insists that because it is currently under Chinese control, that makes it a Chinese territory and the manufacturing is removed. So what’s the consensus? Does temporary control constitute the territory being Chinese for purposes of China specific rules? So long as India is under Japanese control, the manufacturing is removed and China is allowed to reinforce directly in that territory, or does the manufacturing stay and China cannot reinforce there? For what it’s worth, I’ll probably acquiesce and allow the manufacturing to be removed, and just insist that the rule stays the same in all further games, I don’t think it matters to my plans and I’m good with allowing China to reinforce there, but I was wondering what other people thought.
Northern Ireland
-
Sorry I bet this is already on the forum somewhere but the Google Search bar is not working, something about an API…
I saw Variance in a YouTube video move from Scotland to Northern Ireland in TripleA (G40) but I cannot find this anywhere in the rule book. I was always of the understanding that this is an island and only accessible by transport?
-
@Deiganator:
Sorry I bet this is already on the forum somewhere but the Google Search bar is not working, something about an API…
I saw Variance in a YouTube video move from Scotland to Northern Ireland in TripleA (G40) but I cannot find this anywhere in the rule book. I was always of the understanding that this is an island and only accessible by transport?
There is no such move, as Scotland and Northern Ireland are considered to be one territory. It is more obvious when you look at the (real) gameboard where Scotland and Northern Ireland are connected by the British roundel.
The TripleA-map lacks the visible connection, but Northern Ireland is coded as “Scotland” - you can prove that by moving the mouse over Northern Ireland while the “Territory”-tab is opened.
The move maybe was from Scotland to Eire/Ireland (Republic)?
HTH :-)
-
Yes that was the move.
Odd how they are connected, other similar island are not. I wonder why Ireland is different?
-
@Deiganator:
Yes that was the move.
Odd how they are connected, other similar island are not. I wonder why Ireland is different?
I suppose it was done this way to clearly indicate that you don’t need a ship to move between Scotland and Eire, as they now share a land border.
-
Some of the choices in G40 is very strange to me. As far as I know, there isn’t a land bridge between Northern Ireland to Scotland so you’d think you would need a ship to transfer men between the two, I am guessing Northern Ireland doesn’t “exist” I guess because they thought it would be easy for Germany to break UK London’s NO by taking it over, I have no idea why but I can not find any other logical reason for this.
-
Geographically speaking, it’s indeed an oddity. The straits between Gibraltar and Morocco, between Sicily and Southern Italy, and between Denmark and Sweden, are all narrower than Scotland to Northern Ireland, but they do require a transport for troops to cross them. Nowadays, there’s even a bridge between Denmark and Sweden.
But I suppose that a separate “Northern Ireland” territory would clutter the A&A map too much in an already crowded region. -
I am also guessing it’s because Northern Ireland didn’t play a role in WWII other than being part of UK as a whole. I am willing to bet they argued that having Northern Ireland as it self would so mean that Wales has to be on its own.