• 2007 AAR League

    @Imperious:

    … or drop off in NCM units on different territories you control.

    what?
    does this mean that you can now ncm-land in 2 different areas?
    thus a rulechange from AAR?


  • if they are connected to the same SZ and are both friendly i think thats in the rules.


  • @Imperious:

    yes when you embark units on your allys transport you have to wait a turn before you disembark

    You can also bridge your units on your transports or drop off in NCM units on different territories you control.

    If you are using a single TR in NCM, it must offload into a single friendly territory.  AA50 pg 31.
    This includes bridging  :wink:


  • Oh NO! that sucks. I understand if its an invasion, but to friendly its too much. More house rules.


  • Oh well, TR only cost 7ipc now.  Buy another.


  • @Imperious:

    Oh NO! that sucks. I understand if its an invasion, but to friendly its too much. More house rules.

    IL, come on, split unloading is never allowed in an A&A game.

  • Official Q&A

    Actually, it was allowed in Classic.


  • Hmmm, true, but whenever somebody did it I and my playgroup corrected anyone who was so bold to make that move.  :-D


  • @Krieghund:

    @General:

    Secondly, do submarines perform “surprise strike” at the start of every round of combat or just the first round of combat?  (Again, if enemy destroyers are present, there is no “suprise strike.”)

    Every round.

    Now I am confused. rulebook page.30 stated that submarine’s surprise strike is a special attack and “This special attack only happens once at the start of the attacking units fire step.”

    In my understanding, submarines only fire “surprise strike” once in any given combat. After that submarines attack along with other surface warships normally. Although submarines retain the right to submerge. Of course, the above discussion assumes the absence of Destroyer.


  • Here is another thing I would like to point out and have experts’ opinions.

    Rulebook (page.28) Sea Units, 2nd paragraph from top

    “…… They cannot move into or through hostile sea zones.”

    I do not agree with this sentence fully. Below is my understandings:

    (1) Sea units cannot move through hostile sea zones.
    (2) During “Combat Move” phase: sea units can move into hostile sea zones.
    (3) During “Non-combat Move” phase: sea units cannot move into hostile sea zones.
    (4) During “Mobilise Units” phase: sea units can be deployed into a hostile sea zone in the presence of legible Industry Complex.

    Please correct me if my understanding is not correct. Many thanks.

  • Official Q&A

    @J2004823:

    @Krieghund:

    @General:

    Secondly, do submarines perform “surprise strike” at the start of every round of combat or just the first round of combat?  (Again, if enemy destroyers are present, there is no “suprise strike.”)

    Every round.

    Now I am confused. rulebook page.30 stated that submarine’s surprise strike is a special attack and “This special attack only happens once at the start of the attacking units fire step.”

    In my understanding, submarines only fire “surprise strike” once in any given combat. After that submarines attack along with other surface warships normally. Although submarines retain the right to submerge. Of course, the above discussion assumes the absence of Destroyer.

    The intent of the “only happens once” was that if a sub gets a surprise strike it doesn’t get to fire again when the rest of the units fire later in the round.  This will be cleared up in the FAQ.

    @J2004823:

    Here is another thing I would like to point out and have experts’ opinions.

    Rulebook (page.28) Sea Units, 2nd paragraph from top

    “…… They cannot move into or through hostile sea zones.”

    I do not agree with this sentence fully. Below is my understandings:

    (1) Sea units cannot move through hostile sea zones.
    (2) During “Combat Move” phase: sea units can move into hostile sea zones.
    (3) During “Non-combat Move” phase: sea units cannot move into hostile sea zones.
    (4) During “Mobilise Units” phase: sea units can be deployed into a hostile sea zone in the presence of legible Industry Complex.

    Please correct me if my understanding is not correct. Many thanks.

    You’re right.  That sentence is weird.  It sounds like it belongs in the noncombat movement section.


  • @Krieghund:

    The intent of the “only happens once” was that if a sub gets a surprise strike it doesn’t get to fire again when the rest of the units fire later in the round.  This will be cleared up in the FAQ.

    Hi Krieghund,

    Many thanks for clearing this up. It helps a lot.

    In this case, I wound sincerely recommend an extra step before “attacking units fire”, just to check special abilities of all units. This shall remove the confusions around “having Destroyer eliminated in the middle of a combat”. Plus, this extra step can accommodate future house rules if additional special abilities are added onto other units.

    I made a flowchart to illustrate my point. In addition, I tried my best to clear up the “press attack & retreat” step by splitting it into several condition checks. Should I misinterpret anything in the flowchart, please point them out. Many thanks.

    Best,

    Resolving Combat in AA50.pdf


  • In this case, I wound sincerely recommend an extra step before “attacking units fire”, just to check special abilities of all units. This shall remove the confusions around “having Destroyer eliminated in the middle of a combat”. Plus, this extra step can accommodate future house rules if additional special abilities are added onto other units.

    I made a flowchart to illustrate my point. In addition, I tried my best to clear up the “press attack & retreat” step by splitting it into several condition checks. Should I misinterpret anything in the flowchart, please point them out. Many thanks.

    Best,

    LOL This chart reminds me of work.  IPM?

  • Official Q&A

    @J2004823:

    I made a flowchart to illustrate my point. In addition, I tried my best to clear up the “press attack & retreat” step by splitting it into several condition checks. Should I misinterpret anything in the flowchart, please point them out. Many thanks.

    Looks right to me.


  • jeffdestroyer,

    sorry, what is work. IPM?

    The other day, I was looking for the rulebook of “The Devil’s Cauldron” and encountered this supporting material:
    http://www.dfwfront.com/dc/Assault flowchart.jpg

    I have to agree that flowchart is probably the best solution. Not only it saves tons of words but also it gives the vision of the flow. So when I was trying to explain the flow of combat in AA50. I thought I ought to give flowchart a fair chance :)

    Besides, the combat flow in AA50 is simple comparing to most other wargames.

    –----------------------------

    Krieghund,

    Great, thanks for your help.


  • IPM    Integrated Process Management.

    Your chart reminded me of it. No harm done.


  • ok, got something that needs clarifying:

    i know that naval units can ignore enemy transports, BUT can enemy transports ignore naval units to land forces? or do they have to be escorted by some combat units so amphibious assault can take place?

    i know what the ruling was in revised, but the rulebook is a bit ambiguous sometimes

  • Official Q&A

    @tin_snips:

    ok, got something that needs clarifying:

    i know that naval units can ignore enemy transports, BUT can enemy transports ignore naval units to land forces? or do they have to be escorted by some combat units so amphibious assault can take place?

    i know what the ruling was in revised, but the rulebook is a bit ambiguous sometimes

    If there are only defending enemy transports and/or subs in the sea zone, the attacking transports may ignore them and need no escort.  If there is an escort of attacking battleships and/or cruisers, they may either attack the defending transports/subs or bombard - they can’t do both.


  • @jeffdestroyer:

    IPM     Integrated Process Management.

    Your chart reminded me of it. No harm done.

    jeffdestroyer,

    uh-huh, Integrated Process Management. I was trying to match IPM with a game title but with little success. The farthest I went: P for Pacific. Guess sometimes you just have to think out of the box.

    Best,


  • so if i have a loaded transport, i cannot move it into a seazone with an enemy BB and unload?

Suggested Topics

Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

66

Online

17.2k

Users

39.6k

Topics

1.7m

Posts