Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)


  • Ah okay - I was reading the Europe and Pacific rules to get Global rules (I believe each rulebook - the PDF online ones - has a section at the end called 'Additional Rules for Global). I don’t think it says to ignore any rules, like the J1 attack with its enemies defending only on 1’s. So, for all intents and purposes in Global, all attack/defense is normal.

    I read peoples strategies or posts and they mention how ‘easy’ it is to destroy the Russian Troops on Turn 1 of Japan (especially if they move them all into same province). With the ‘defender defends on a ‘one’ during Japans first turn’ I can understand that…otherwise it looks like Japan would be outnumbered by the Russian Defenders - am I missing something here?


  • No you’re not missing anything - but it’s still probably not a good idea to stack all Russians together

    There is nothing in the Europe or Pacific rulebook about units all defending on a 1 - from what Wittman said, it sounds like you had a Pacific rulebook from an earlier Axis and Allies game that is not G40 at all.  It was the Pacific game developed in the year 2000 from what it sounds like  :-)

  • '19 '17 '16

    @PanzerPenguin:

    I read peoples strategies or posts and they mention how ‘easy’ it is to destroy the Russian Troops on Turn 1 of Japan (especially if they move them all into same province).

    Japan has 12 ground units between Manchuria and Korea IIRC and can bring in 6 more with an amphibious assault. With most attacking on a one vs 20 units, that requires planes to support the attack but that can easily be done.


  • plus bombardment!
    But it will distract them a bit from the south….


  • Now that I am home and looking at the board, I have another question.

    Gibraltar straddles two sea zones (91 and 92). It is defended by a fighter. If the Italians Amphib- Assault it, since there is no airbase, the fighter can not Scramble, correct? It would go to landcombat, Inf + Art (Italians) vs 1 UK Fighter, plus any shore bombardment by Italian ships.

    The Seaport of Gibraltar seems to be in Sea Zone 91. Is there one in #92 as well, given how small Gibraltar is? Or is it like Cairo, extending the Naval Base into both #98 and #81.

    Since there is no airbase in Malta, can the UK fighter in Malta scramble? Or does there need to be a physical airbase in order to do so?

    Also, can submarines move through a hostile Strait like Denmark or Gibraltar?


  • @PanzerPenguin:

    Now that I am home and looking at the board, I have another question.

    Gibraltar straddles two sea zones (91 and 92). It is defended by a fighter. If the Italians Amphib- Assault it, since there is no airbase, the fighter can not Scramble, correct?

    Correct

    It would go to landcombat, Inf + Art (Italians) vs 1 UK Fighter, plus any shore bombardment by Italian ships.

    That’s right

    The Seaport of Gibraltar seems to be in Sea Zone 91. Is there one in #92 as well, given how small Gibraltar is? Or is it like Cairo, extending the Naval Base into both #98 and #81.

    There are no special cases for this - it is like Cairo or London or Normandy - one naval base services two different zones.  There is no limit to the number of zones

    Since there is no airbase in Malta, can the UK fighter in Malta scramble?

    You’re right, it can’t scramble because there is no airbase

    Or does there need to be a physical airbase in order to do so?

    always, yes

    Also, can submarines move through a hostile Strait like Denmark or Gibraltar?

    Gibraltar is the only canal or strait on the board where submarines can go through a hostile.  Do you have a rulebook?  I can provide links to free ones online if you don’t


  • No rule book, but am looking at ones online. Not quite sure where I found that rule about Japans first turn offensive.

    Rules seem simple on paper, but when put them into effect…

    For instance, as Japan, if I attack Amur from the land but also from an Amphibious Assault, do the shore bombardment rules take affect if I have the correct ships in position? If they hit, like the Sub Surprise Attack, the defenders hit get immediately eliminated, and then the ground combat, combing both land-attacking and amphib-troops would commence?


  • In 2nd edition G40 units hit by bombardment still get to fire back like normal.  I think you’re looking at a wrong rule book.  Site isn’t allowing attachments right now or I’d try to attach the PDF files…. Anybody got the links for this player?


  • first off thank you for answering my questions promptly  :-D :-D :-D

    sub rules confuse me
    1. if you sink a destroyer you can suprise attack after right?
    2. you can suprise attack every round if there is no destroyer?
    3. subs can submerge on any round that they are attacking which mean they are removed from combat and can not enter back?

  • '19 '17 '16

    Yes.

    I don’t understand your question about the amphibious assaults. Ifthe ships aren’t in position after combat movement they can’t bombard. Those hit by bombardments get to retaliate though.


  • @generalTrible:

    sub rules confuse me
    1. if you sink a destroyer you can suprise attack after right?

    yes, in the following rounds

    2. you can suprise attack every round if there is no destroyer?

    yes - feeding frenzy!  Same thing for subs on defense when no attacking destroyers are present

    3. subs can submerge on any round that they are attacking which mean they are removed from combat and can not enter back?

    That’s right.  And you don’t have to submerge them all - round by round, you can decide to submerge some


  • @simon33:

    I don’t understand your question about the amphibious assaults. Ifthe ships aren’t in position after combat movement they can’t bombard. Those hit by bombardments get to retaliate though.

    I don’t know what your question is.  What do you call “out of position”?

  • '19 '17 '16

    I was trying to clarify the previous question. What I mean by in position is being in the sea zone the troops are landing from.


  • OK, yes the cruiser/battleship must be in the same zone as at least one of the offloading transports.  You can actually bombard in the following manner:

    Attack West Germany from 112 and 113
    From 112 you have 2 battleships and a cruiser, and offload 1 infantry from a transport
    From 113 you have a cruiser and offload 4 infantry.

    You can bombard with both cruisers and both battleships because
    a) there is at least one transport offloading from each zone and
    b) there are 4 or more (5 in my example) ground units in total offloading

    This one surprised me, but we have access to one of the main rulebook writers here on this site, and I learned this from him.

    So I think you just wanted to know if the cruiser/battleship had to be in the same zone as the transport(s) and the answer to that is yes.

  • '19 '17 '16

    Sounds ridiculous. The rules state:

    If there was NOT a combat in the sea zone from which you
    are offloading units from transports, any accompanying
    battleships and cruisers in that sea zone can conduct a one-time
    bombardment of one coastal territory or island group being
    attacked. The number of ships that can make bombardment
    attacks is limited to 1 ship per land unit being offloaded
    from the transports in that coastal territory. If more than one
    territory is being assaulted from the same sea zone and there
    are multiple battleships and/or cruisers, each ship may support
    only one assault. However, the ships’ bombardment may
    be split in any way that the attacker chooses, so long as the
    number of ships supporting each assault doesn’t exceed the
    number of seaborne land units in that assault. Choosing to
    destroy enemy transports or attacking enemy submarines in
    step 1 (above), counts as a combat and prevents the battleship
    and cruiser bombardment from taking place.

    It also opens a loophole that a battleship can conduct sea combat in zone 113 then bombard West Germany if an infantry is unloaded from zone 112.


  • But the rule says “any accompanying battleships and cruisers in that sea zone,” so that loophole doesn’t exist.


  • @simon33:

    It also opens a loophole that a battleship can conduct sea combat in zone 113 then bombard West Germany if an infantry is unloaded from zone 112.

    No, maybe I wasn’t clear enough.  I never said a cruiser or battleship could conduct sea combat and also bombard.  Was only trying to explain multiple zone offloading and bombardment


  • My understanding is that if your invasion fleet has to engage in naval combat first, before it can offload troops, then the land-combat phase does not get the benefit of the shore-bombardment. Technically the transport would be offloading while the Cruisers, etc engage in combat with enemy naval forces.


  • You’re exactly right.
    I never said anything about naval combat.  The obvious assumption was that there was none, like in my example of 113 and 112


  • So for amphibian assaults can you move a tank into a transport and then right onto land because it has 2 moves or is that a no no  :? :? :?

Suggested Topics

Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

53

Online

17.2k

Users

39.6k

Topics

1.7m

Posts