Thank you for responding! Yes, America found this rule and lost a strategic bomber for it.
Dumb submarine question
-
A transport is planning to conduct an amphibious assault. To do that, it goes into a sea zone that contains an enemy submarine to load units. Is this legal? Can the “doesn’t block enemy movement” feature of submarines apply to transports loading and unloading in a sea zone with an enemy submarine?
-
@SuperbattleshipYamato
An enemy submarine does not make a seazone hostile. So of course the Transport may load units in that seazone, ignoring the submarine. However, in case the transport wants to unload for an amphibious assault from a seazone that contains an ignored enemy submarine, at least one warship belonging to the attacking power must also be present in the sea zone at the end of the Combat Move phase.
(Rulebook Europe 1940.2 , p. 16) -
Thank you!
-
@SuperbattleshipYamato And the submarine does’nt prevent the unescorted transport from unloading into a friendly place in NCM
-
Thank you for clarifying!