Yes, if there is a possible scramble there. Is probably a good idea sometimes.
If you are landing a unit amphibiously, yes it would take the territory unopposed. But you have too clear the Sea Zone first, of course. You fail and the unit stays on board.
Moving through canels question
-
Hi peops…
An example is this: Canal,
If you capture a canal in your combat phase can you move your boats through the canal ( now your’s ) in a non combat of that same turn?
BH
-
No, you can’t do that.
@rulebook:
…
If your side (but not necessarily your power) controlled a canal or narrow strait at the start of your turn, you may move
sea units through it (you can’t use it in the same turn that you capture it).
…HTH :-)