HBG's Global War 1939 FAQ

  • '14

    @Eville:

    Looking forward to trying the new 6.0 rules.  One quick question though.  I noticed there are no longer any maximum build restrictions on the special units for each nation like there were in the previous rules.  Just wanted to verify if those restrictions have been lifted and you can build as many as you like or if the restrictions were omitted accidentally.  Thanks in the advance.  Awesome game!  Thanks for all the hard work as my group really enjoys it.

    All special units have no production limits now except for how many can be produced per turn.

  • '14

    All other questions will be answered after I get back from vacation next week!


  • Some Questions about Setup 6.0!

    What is the change in setup 6.0 in London/Fighter? It is red, but there are the same two figters then in setup 5.0!
    And is there now any reason to buy german “SS Panzer Grenadiers”? They cost the same IPC`s than a german armor! I think the armor should cost 6 IPC!

  • '20 '19 '18 '16 '15 '11 '10

    I noticed the changes for the SS as well, though I would not like to see the panzer price change. It does mention in the rules that SS can board transports one for one with tanks, artillery like regular infantry (though it does mention that mechanized cannot). I consider that a loophole to be exploited and perhaps worth the 5 IPC in certain circumstances.

    I’m still looking forward to seeing rules regarding coastal batteries, heavy industrial complexes and U-boat pens.

    We’re scheduled to play next weekend and will be trying out the new rules. I’ll probably have more questions after that.


  • On Turn 1, can Germany move units into Italian territories?

  • '14

    @Moose11:

    On Turn 1, can Germany move units into Italian territories?

    No, Italy is considered neutral until either Paris falls, Germany invades Russia or they are attacked by an allied country.


  • Hi Tigerman,

    Can you built more than 3 german ships in seazone 18 (Stettin)? Because of the adjacent industriel complex of western Germany, which is also connected to seazone 18 and the harbor in Stettin!

    If you can, the new Position of the UK Home Fleet in seazone 14 is not save against german attacks in second Impulse of turn 1.
    If you cannot, UK e.g. can only built ships in seazone 47 (if built an Minor IC in Cairo) but not in seazone 64 (Red Sea). Is that correct???

  • '14

    @Star:

    Hi Tigerman,

    Can you built more than 3 german ships in seazone 18 (Stettin)? Because of the adjacent industriel complex of western Germany, which is also connected to seazone 18 and the harbor in Stettin!

    If you can, the new Position of the UK Home Fleet in seazone 14 is not save against german attacks in second Impulse of turn 1.
    If you cannot, UK e.g. can only built ships in seazone 47 (if built an Minor IC in Cairo) but not in seazone 64 (Red Sea). Is that correct???

    Hey Star, give me a day or two and ill give you an answer.


  • Some Questions about the optional Airbase rule!

    1. Lets say you make an strategic bombing raid on an airbase and the defender scrambles with his fighters. The SBR is successfully and the airbase is destroyed. Is there the same rule as if an aircraft carrier is destroyed or damaged, the fighters have one space for landing?

    2. The airbases have now no defends value, so can an Anti Aircraft gun in the same country defend against the SBR and what happens if both the AA-gun and the airbase are under attack by SBR?

    3. Can airplanes defend if there is an ground attack on the country they are inside (they haven’t scrambled before) but the airbase was destroyed before in the same turn by SBR

    4. Can you built airplanes in countries that have no airbase, or does it work the same way like ships (you must have both, factory + naval base; factory + air base)?

    5. For Landing at the end of the turn, must you have an air base since the beginning of the round, or can you land on a newly built airbase (built in the same turn the airplane takes off)? Because if you built a new carrier, you can land on them

    One Question about fortresses, can you build more than one per country?

    And what about coastel ships? If e.g. the norway battleships can escape and get british, where can they move? Only at the Great Britain coast? Or have they to stay by Norway coast?

  • '14

    @Star:

    Hi Tigerman,

    Can you built more than 3 german ships in seazone 18 (Stettin)? Because of the adjacent industriel complex of western Germany, which is also connected to seazone 18 and the harbor in Stettin!

    The IC in Stettin is connected to SZ 18 not the IC in Western Germany

    If you can, the new Position of the UK Home Fleet in seazone 14 is not save against german attacks in second Impulse of turn 1.
    If you cannot, UK e.g. can only built ships in seazone 47 (if built an Minor IC in Cairo) but not in seazone 64 (Red Sea). Is that correct???

    IC in Cairo is connected to SZ 47

  • '14

    @Star:

    Some Questions about the optional Airbase rule!

    1. Lets say you make an strategic bombing raid on an airbase and the defender scrambles with his fighters. The SBR is successfully and the airbase is destroyed. Is there the same rule as if an aircraft carrier is destroyed or damaged, the fighters have one space for landing?

    Give them 1 movement to find an airbase like the carrier rule

    2. The airbases have now no defends value, so can an Anti Aircraft gun in the same country defend against the SBR and what happens if both the AA-gun and the airbase are under attack by SBR?

    During any SBR, if that zone has an AA gun it gets to fire on all aircraft.

    3. Can airplanes defend if there is an ground attack on the country they are inside (they haven’t scrambled before) but the airbase was destroyed before in the same turn by SBR

    If the SBR attack destroyed the airbaseall aircraft must find another airbase to be placed up to 1 zone away.

    4. Can you built airplanes in countries that have no airbase, or does it work the same way like ships (you must have both, factory + naval base; factory + air base)?

    must have an Airbase

    5. For Landing at the end of the turn, must you have an air base since the beginning of the round, or can you land on a newly built airbase (built in the same turn the airplane takes off)? Because if you built a new carrier, you can land on them

    Newly built or even captured airbases can be landed on.

    I know this restricts the role of all aircraft a little but that is why the Airbase cost is so much lower with these optional rules. One cool perk to these rules are if you capture an airbase your planes can land in that zone immediatly!

    One Question about fortresses, can you build more than one per country?

    And what about coastel ships? If e.g. the norway battleships can escape and get british, where can they move? Only at the Great Britain coast? Or have they to stay by Norway coast?


  • One Question about fortresses, can you build more than one per country?
    The rules state that two can be built per country.
    And what about coastel ships? If e.g. the norway battleships can escape and get british, where can they move? Only at the Great Britain coast? Or have they to stay by Norway coast?
    We play that they move to the closest English naval base and then are stationary, just like Vichy ships.

    And a question on production from Sidney and Calcutta.  The rules state that FEC and ANZAC cannot build capital ships.  If the UK diverts income to build up to two additional units at FEC or ANZAC industrial complexes, can the UK build capital ships out of Sidney or Calcutta?

  • '14

    @Moose11:

    One Question about fortresses, can you build more than one per country?
    The rules state that two can be built per country.

    A country can build more than 1 Fortress but may not place more than 1 in a territory per turn.

    And what about coastel ships? If e.g. the norway battleships can escape and get british, where can they move? Only at the Great Britain coast? Or have they to stay by Norway coast?
    We play that they move to the closest English naval base and then are stationary, just like Vichy ships.

    They move to the nearest friendly naval base withing 2 sea zones or to the nearest friendly fleet. This would be Great Britain

    And a question on production from Sidney and Calcutta.  The rules state that FEC and ANZAC cannot build capital ships.  If the UK diverts income to build up to two additional units at FEC or ANZAC industrial complexes, can the UK build capital ships out of Sidney or Calcutta?

    Zero Capitol ships may be built or placed in Calcutta or Sydney.


  • Thanks for answer!


  • Naval Base (Optional) Rule!?

    If you play with that rule and there is a sea battle before the amphibious assault, does the naval base base fire before the sea battle, or can the base only fire at the transports after sea battle.

    E.g.
    1.  there is one destroyer (defender) in sea zone, and the attacker moves into that sea zone with two destroyer, one cruiser, one battleship and 3 loaded transports. Can the defenders naval base fire on the complete attackers navy before the sea battle takes place or only on the transports because the cruiser and battleship cannot make a shore bombardement after sea battle?

    2. If the defender has the option to scramble 2 figters but does not (Uses the figters to defend land territory), can the naval base fire on the complete attackers navy or only on the cruiser and batteship, which want to make a shore bombardement and the transports?

    Can you use the naval base first strike, if the japanese make a sneak attack?

    Is there -1 for the naval base first strike if germans use the “Eastern front” special rule? (Leningrad naval base)

    Air base (Optional) rule ?!

    Can you launche figters to defend against an strategic bombing raid from an adjacent land territory which has an airbase (scramble rule) if yes, only 3 per adjacent air base? Or can you only launch figters by an strategic bombing raid, if the airbase is in the same territory as the factory?

  • '14

    @Star:

    Naval Base (Optional) Rule!?

    If you play with that rule and there is a sea battle before the amphibious assault, does the naval base base fire before the sea battle, or can the base only fire at the transports after sea battle.  The First strike is taken after the sea battle. Any ship can be taken as a casualty except for submarines.

    E.g.
    1.  there is one destroyer (defender) in sea zone, and the attacker moves into that sea zone with two destroyer, one cruiser, one battleship and 3 loaded transports. Can the defenders naval base fire on the complete attackers navy before the sea battle takes place or only on the transports because the cruiser and battleship cannot make a shore bombardement after sea battle?

    2. If the defender has the option to scramble 2 figters but does not (Uses the figters to defend land territory), can the naval base fire on the complete attackers navy or only on the cruiser and batteship, which want to make a shore bombardement and the transports?

    Can you use the naval base first strike, if the japanese make a sneak attack? The Japanese sneak attack trumps the NB first strike ability. This however is the case if Japan is not already at war with the defending country.  Japans sneak attack only works on countries they are declaring war on.

    Is there -1 for the naval base first strike if germans use the “Eastern front” special rule? (Leningrad naval base) No. the -1 only applies to normal combat.

    Air base (Optional) rule ?!

    Can you launche figters to defend against an strategic bombing raid from an adjacent land territory which has an airbase (scramble rule) if yes, only 3 per adjacent air base? Or can you only launch figters by an strategic bombing raid, if the airbase is in the same territory as the factory?You can launch all fighters from the territory being SBR’d and 3 per adjacent territories.

    Hope this has helped. Hope you like the optional rules also!


  • Hi,

    Is it possible to invade “Istanbul” from Bulgaria or Greece without transports to get control of Bosporus?

  • '14

    Yes. Istanbul is the zone on both sides of the water way.


  • Edit:

    Sorry.  Just realized I put a big long rambling post in the FAQ, so I moved it to a new topic.


  • "5. For Landing at the end of the turn, must you have an air base since the beginning of the round, or can you land on a newly built airbase (built in the same turn the airplane takes off)? Because if you built a new carrier, you can land on them

    Newly built or even captured airbases can be landed on.

    I know this restricts the role of all aircraft a little but that is why the Airbase cost is so much lower with these optional rules. One cool perk to these rules are if you capture an airbase your planes can land in that zone immediatly!"

    This seems to imply that all aircraft can only take off from and/or land in territories that contain air bases (or sea zones with carriers).  Is this correct?  And the airbase cost on the setup charts I’ve seen (6.1) still show that they cost 15 IPCs.  Is there another set of rules and setup charts that is more recent than that?

    My second question concerns Hungary, Romania, and Bulgaria.  The way the rule is written, it seems to imply that they each get a set number of IPCs each turn to buy units for themselves (Hungary – 3, Romania – 6, and Bulgaria – 4).  And if Germany activates them, then Germany gets the printed IPC value of these territories to add to its own income.  Does that mean both happen simultaneously?  Or is it a one-or-the-other situation?  In other words, once Romania is activated, is it actually worth a total of 10 IPCs for the Axis (6 to be spent in Romania plus 4 for Germany).

Suggested Topics

  • 25
  • 7
  • 5
  • 8
  • 2
  • 8
  • 6
  • 6
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

79

Online

17.4k

Users

39.9k

Topics

1.7m

Posts