To answer all of your questions, planes and submarines cannot attack each other unless there is a destroyer. Period
submarines hits can NEVER be assigned to planes, destroyer or not.
Hi everyone I have a couple Q&A’s regarding the topic 👆
can submarines attack each other? For example, if you are attacking a transport that is with a cruiser and a sub then will that defending sub participate in the defense of the transport?
can someone explain convoy distribution to me in simpler terms than the one in the rule book?
If you have answers please tell me.
@Axis_Powers_r_Better Let’s try it this way:
In fact, at the beginning of each combat round (even if destroyers were present at the start of the battle), if there are no more destroyers present, any subs in the battle have the option of submerging and avoiding the remainder of the battle. At the conclusion of the battle regardless of the winner, the submerged subs will remain in the SZ.
If a SZ has multiple territories around it, you can lose upto the sum of all the territories you own, e.g., SZ97, the Italians own S. Italy, N. Italy, Albania, and Greece. Total IPCs= 10IPCs. If the Allies have CV + 2 ftrs + 2 subs that lived at the end of the Italians turn in SZ97, then you would roll 8 dice, summing up all 1-3s and subtracting from 10 to determine the total loss of income due to convoys. Assume in this example, the Germans own Yugoslavia, which doesn’t affect the Italian rolls. But if the fleet remained at the end of the German turn, you would again roll 8 dice, but only subtract from upto 2 IPCs.
Of note, at the end of the Allies turns, the fleet in SZ97 doesn’t do anything to Italians or German income, i.e., it is not offensive attack, but only an aspect of the end of turn income determination.
@surfer Thanks for the clarification!
@Axis_Powers_r_Better I don’t mean to complicate things …but in example no die roll for carrier plus each sub and each plane rolls 2 dice so that would be 8 dice total.
@SuperbattleshipYamato edited