• @Cmdr:

    I agree, Tim, but that’s the rule.

    So yes, if Japan is unwise and only stations transports in SZ 60, and England attacks with a submarine, lives and decides not to risk another attack instead submerging, all those transports are “locked.”  They cannot load from SZ 60 and they cannot off load into friendly territory.  They can only move in Combat Move, that means moving to another sea zone to load units and yet another to offload and that offload better be an amphibious attack.

    Good way to gum up Japan for a round.

    thank you Tim :wink:

    the rule may sim odd, but its good in some way, beacuse it leaves you to be more creative in your play, and shows the value of each unit, even the cheapest( in this case the sub-of the sea units)

    the same thing is when you attack massive fleet with one sub, so you can declare your ACs will pass through that seazone but you re infact sending figs to kamikaze mission someplace else, as Jen previously mentioned, thank you Jen  :wink:


  • A true master of all the permutations of naval combat can play havoc with traditional strategies…


  • Yeah imagine all the swearing when a novice player is shown all the loopholes for the first time, all in one game.  :-D


  • Sorry, I should have covered this thread too:

    Fricking subs…


  • i have a question

    for example

    UK attacks Japan on sea

    with 1 des, 1 bat
    Japan defends with 1 sub

    UK forces miss on round 1 turn, Japanese sub also

    can UK forces retreat, or Japanese player can submerge his sub first=negate the possibilty of UK forces to retreat

    thanks


  • In your example, the sub can’t submerge at all, since there is an enemy destroyer present.  However, let’s assume that the attacking force consists of a battleship and a sub.  In LHTR, the attacker’s choice to retreat is made before the defender’s choice is made to submerge.  In the box rules, the choices are made simultaneously.  In either case, the defending sub may not disallow the attacker’s retreat by submerging.


  • @Krieghund:

    In your example, the sub can’t submerge at all, since there is an enemy destroyer present.  However, let’s assume that the attacking force consists of a battleship and a sub.  In LHTR, the attacker’s choice to retreat is made before the defender’s choice is made to submerge.  In the box rules, the choices are made simultaneously.  In either case, the defending sub may not disallow the attacker’s retreat by submerging.

    thank you for correcting me

    and clearing things out

    i get it now :wink:


  • @Krieghund:

    In LHTR, the attacker’s choice to retreat is made before the defender’s choice is made to submerge.  In the box rules, the choices are made simultaneously.

    how does THAT work?

    Do you each write down your attack/withdraw perogative on paper and show it at the same time… I mean, how ELSE could you do it simultaneously?


  • It’s not so much that the OOB rules specify that they are similtaneous, it’s just one of the vague rules in the OOB that doesn’t specifically dictate the order so you’re left to wrangle it out with your opponent.  LHTR specifies the order as Attacker, then defending subs.  I just found out a few minutes ago in the Unbaltic thread that CSub’s rules say the sub submerges before the attacker, so it all depends on who you’re playing.


  • i see your point Axis roll

    we should now who goes first

    the attacker with his retreat or the defender with its sumbergance

    or is it done simultaniously as you ve mentioned

    anybody which can clarify this ˝frickin subs˝ issue  :? :?:lol:


  • LHTR: In step 7, combat continues unless one of the following conditions occurs (in this order of sequence):

    Condition A) Attacker withdraws all attacking units;
    Condition B) Defender withdraws all submarines by submerging, leaving no other defending units in play;
    Condition C) Either or both sides lose all units.

    So the attacker may withdraw before defending subs submerge.

    Another nice tactic especially for Germany: If UK (or in same cases US) has a lot of BB (or even combined bombardement), doing attacks (opening fire) like 1 INF + many BB vs. GER or EEU. So GER normally loses a bunch of INFs every round with a value of over 8 IPCs. Then GER should build a SUB in BAL, in order to avoid this opening fire (sub-stalling). The BBs have to fight against the SUB an can´t do their opening fire for the battle in EEU or GER.
    I don´t know whether this was already mentioned.

    Bye,
    Lili


  • @axis_roll:

    @Krieghund:

    In LHTR, the attacker’s choice to retreat is made before the defender’s choice is made to submerge.  In the box rules, the choices are made simultaneously.

    how does THAT work?

    Not very well.

    @axis_roll:

    Do you each write down your attack/withdraw perogative on paper and show it at the same time… I mean, how ELSE could you do it simultaneously?

    That’s about the only way I can think of.  As TimTheEnchanter pointed out, this is an ambiguity in the rules.  There is no FAQ entry, and as far as I know no “official” ruling on this, and that’s why I answered the way I did.  My personal inclination would be to follow the “natural” order of things and let the attacker decide first, as in LHTR.  If anyone cares enough, I can ask Larry Harris, though I suspect his answer would agree with LHTR (for obvious reasons).  Just one more reason to use LHTR rather than the OOB rules.

2 / 2

Suggested Topics

  • Question to Krieghund

    Dec 12, 2010, 9:54 PM
    3
  • Subs question

    Oct 17, 2010, 5:01 PM
    4
  • Antiaircraft Question

    Jul 24, 2008, 4:34 PM
    9
  • Two Questions (CV Defense and TRN stuff)

    Jun 12, 2008, 11:56 AM
    3
  • Question

    Jan 16, 2008, 6:21 AM
    7
  • Quick Question

    Jan 16, 2008, 6:27 AM
    17
  • R1: Sub Movement

    Jan 11, 2008, 9:36 PM
    13
  • Questions about rules

    Jan 11, 2007, 7:05 PM
    9
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

46

Online

17.6k

Users

40.2k

Topics

1.7m

Posts