Vance (Allies) vs. AlexGreat (Axis), G40 Alpha +3


  • Ok Vance, just wanted to be convinced because the rules in the rulebook clearly say “Combat sequence: 1. Strat Bombing raid, 2. Amphibious aussaults, 3. General combat”.
    The word sequence implies to me that it is step by step, I did not read “simultaneously” or something like that anywhere. I know that all attacks need to be declared simultaneously, of course.

    Its really to my best knowldedge that I cant find anything contrary to my interpretation of the rules, and I also dont find a passage that would explicitly say that a facility disabled still works in the same turn, just that “capabilities are decreased or eliminated” (is there a Q&A somewhere, or a Krieghund explanation for future reference in my local group?), but I never had a situation where it was relevant, and you surely have way more experience than me, so of course I wont contest your explanation. So yes, I need to find another way.

    As for the bombing the air base, yes, I’d very much want that as I would not commit my warships to this attack….sacrificing the transports is bad enough courtesy to your combined air force  :-), building infrastructure to better protect my warships from the 6 US bombers and then the British wave is even worse, however, because I will still bleed, even if it will cost you the 6 bombers and a few British air (provided my own air survives UK battle).


  • OK I am pretty certain that you can;t bomb the airbase to prevent scramble on the same turn, but I’ll make a compromise with you because you planned out your move assuming that you could.  So what I will do is NOT scramble.  You can go ahead with your attack as planned.

    In the meantime I will look around on the harris site and see if Krieghund has said anything about this somewhere.


  • I really would like to do it as it is meant to be in the rules, and as you set up the situation very well in my opinion, you should reap the rewards (I am not experienced in the way of sea lion, surely it can be done better, but the way you arranged your forces makes me doubt if sea-lion is the way to go for the Axis….especially since the die were quite in my favor in Europe, so far).

    I need an hour or so anyway for the kid, maybe you find something definite until then. Only something that would support my view will make me do what I wrote below, every other result including none I will re-think my moves.


  • Ah ha!  I found the answer.

    In the alpha +3 rules on the Harris site, the section on scramble says: “Scrambling is a special movement that the defender can make at the end of the Combat Move phase. It must be done after all of the attacker�s combat movements have been completed and all attacks have been declared.”

    In the rule book, Strategic bombing raids occur at the beginning of the Conduct Combat phase.

    Combat Movement comes before Conduct Combat.  So my planes would be over z110 before your bombers hit my airbase!

    For future reference, a good way to knock out that airbase before sea lion is to attack it with the Italian bomber on I2.

    In any case, I didn’t scramble.  So go ahead and if you want to you can call off bombing the airbase (no point damaging your own airbase LOL)

    Good question Alex!


  • thats settled, then, thx for taking the time.

    I am happy to concede the game as price for my failure to set this up more properly, but still would like to continue (with you not scrambling against my unprotected transports, just like as if the Italian bomber would have been more thorough). I learned so much already, would not want to forego the next lessons  :-D


  • Don’t be silly.  The game is not even close to being won or lost by either side!


  • dont get me wrong, I hate losing, but I am not the bookies favorite right now, and you did offer a major concession already

    Doesnt mean that I stop trying everything I can here.  :-)

    Germany should be up soon.


  • Redo Germany 3

    1. PURCHASE

    • 1 TT (7)
    • 14 Inf (42)
    • 1 Mech (4)

    2. COMBAT MOVES

    UK <– 6 Arm, 7 Art, 13 Inf, 2 Bomber, 5 Fighter, 5 Tac via 13 TTs SZ 113 --> 110

    AA Guns
    DiceRolls: 9@1; Total Hits: 09@1: (5, 2, 6, 4, 2, 6, 4, 2, 6)


  • UK Battle, Rd 1
    A
    DiceRolls: 7@4 11@3 14@2 6@1; Total Hits: 187@4: (4, 5, 3, 5, 1, 4, 2)11@3: (2, 2, 3, 6, 1, 2, 4, 6, 6, 1, 6)14@2: (6, 2, 6, 5, 6, 4, 5, 4, 2, 1, 2, 2, 2, 6)6@1: (6, 5, 5, 1, 2, 6)
    D
    :aaa 16@2 3@4


  • forgot syntax

    D
    DiceRolls: 16@2 3@4; Total Hits: 916@2: (2, 4, 3, 2, 5, 2, 4, 6, 4, 4, 2, 1, 1, 2, 1, 5)3@4: (1, 5, 5)


  • UK, Rd 2
    A
    DiceRolls: 7@4 11@3 11@2; Total Hits: 157@4: (3, 4, 1, 6, 1, 3, 6)11@3: (1, 2, 6, 2, 1, 4, 5, 2, 2, 5, 5)11@2: (4, 1, 4, 2, 4, 3, 6, 2, 1, 3, 3)
    D
    DiceRolls: 3@4 1@2; Total Hits: 23@4: (3, 1, 6)1@2: (6)


  • 3. NON-COMBAT MOVES

    1 Inf Greece –> TT SZ 92
    1 Inf Greece --> Bulgaria
    3 Arm Greece --> Yugo
    2 Bomb UK --> W-Germany
    5 TAC, 5 Fight UK --> Holland
    2 Subs SZ 108 --> SZ 110
    1 Sub SZ 110 --> SZ 125
    1 Sub SZ 110 --> SZ 113
    CR, BB, AC SZ 112 --> SZ 113
    2 Mech Holland --> Germany
    5 Inf, Art S-Germany --> Germany

    4. MOBILIZE

    TT SZ 113 (W-Germany)
    10 Inf Germany
    1 Mech, 1 Inf W-Germany
    3 Inf France

    5. INCOME

    49 (terr) + 10 (NO) + 28 (UK Treasury) = 87

    Vance_AlexGreat_3a_Germany.AAM


  • Nice idea to try and hide your fleet inside the Danish strait!

    USSR 3

        • Soviet Union Declares War on Germany

    and Italy * * *

    PURCHASE & REPAIR
    1 transport
    1 inf
    1 art
    6 mech
    38 total

    COMBAT MOVES
    z113
    1 sub, 1 cruiser, 1 battleship, 1 carrier, 1 transport
    1 sub from z115
    1 cruiser from z114

    My sub is doing a first strike.
    As your first strike, you can submerge your sub or let shoot back @1. Submerge orders?

    Poland (1 inf)
    11 inf, 1 art from Baltic states
    aDiceRolls: 3@1, 2@2; Total Hits: 13@1,: (6, 6, 3)2@2: (2, 6)
    dDiceRolls: 1@2; Total Hits: 01@2: (6)

    Hungary (1 inf)
    4 inf, 1 art from East Poland
    aDiceRolls: 3@1, 2@2; Total Hits: 13@1,: (5, 3, 5)2@2: (1, 5)
    dDiceRolls: 1@2; Total Hits: 01@2: (5)

    Romania (1 inf)
    4 inf from East Poland
    1 art Bessarabia
    aDiceRolls: 3@1, 2@2; Total Hits: 13@1,: (1, 4, 3)2@2: (4, 5)
    dDiceRolls: 1@2; Total Hits: 11@2: (2)


  • Sub stays


  • OK

    z113
    aDiceRolls: 1@2, 1@3; Total Hits: 11@2,: (4)1@3: (3)
    dDiceRolls: 1@1, 1@2, 1@3, 1@4; Total Hits: 31@1,: (2)1@2,: (1)1@3,: (2)1@4: (3)


  • I lose sub and cruiser
    You damage battleship

    NONCOMBAT MOVES
    Karelia
    6 inf from Novgorod

    Novgorod
    2 mech, 2 armor from East Poland
    3 armor from Belarus
    1 tac from Belarus

    Poland
    1 AA from baltic states
    1 AA from East Poland

    East Poland
    2 art from Baltic states
    1 art from Bessarabia
    2 AA, 1 inf, 1 art from North Ukraine
    3 mech from South Ukraine

    Bessarabia
    2 inf from South Ukraine

    India
    1 fig from Kazakhstan

    Sakha
    1 AA, 4 inf from Amur

    Yenisey
    1 AA, 10 inf from Yakutsk

    MOBILIZE UNITS
    1 transport in z127
    1 inf, 1 art in Novgorod
    3 mech in North Ukraine
    3 mech in South Ukraine

    COLLECT INCOME
    USSR3 = 45(territories) +9(NOs) = 54IPCs

    Vance_AlexGreat_3b_USSR.AAM


  • Japan 3

    1. R&D

    DiceRolling 3d6:
    (1, 3, 6)


  • Technological Breakthrough, rolling on Table 2 and discarding all 3 science tokens

    DiceRolling 1d6:
    (3)


  • Wow shipyards is a good one for Japan to get.  America is jealous!


  • Japanese scientists discovered how to crank out ships cheaper

    2. PURCHASE

    • 1 MIC (12)
    • 2 Arm (12)
    • 1 Inf (3)
    • 4 Subs (20)

    3. COMBAT MOVES

    Soviet Far East <– 1 Inf (Japan) via 1 TT SZ 6
    Siberia <-- 1 Inf (Japan) via 1 TT SZ 6
    Amur <-- 8 Inf Manchuria
    Buyant <-- 2 Inf, Art Manchuria, Fighter, TAC (SZ 21)
    Kwangtung <-- Inf, Art (Kiangsi), Inf (Kwangsi), Fighter (Kwangsi), 1 Bomber (Siam)
    Sumatra <-- 1 Bomber Siam, Inf (Celebes) +Art (Jawa) via TT SZ 44 --> SZ 41
    Malaya <-- Art (Sham State)
    Guam <-- Inf Japan via TT from SZ 6

    Buyant
    A
    DiceRolls: 1@4 1@3 2@2 1@1; Total Hits: 11@4: (2)1@3: (4)2@2: (5, 4)1@1: (2)
    D
    DiceRolls: 2@2; Total Hits: 02@2: (5, 3)

    Kwangtung
    A
    DiceRolls: 1@4 1@3 2@2 1@1; Total Hits: 31@4: (2)1@3: (2)2@2: (1, 6)1@1: (5)
    D
    DiceRolls: 2@2; Total Hits: 12@2: (1, 6)

    Sumatra
    A
    DiceRolls: 1@4 2@2; Total Hits: 11@4: (1)2@2: (6, 5)
    D
    DiceRolls: 1@2; Total Hits: 01@2: (5)

4 / 12

Suggested Topics

  • 50
  • 19
  • Squirecam Witt G42 (Axis +6)

    about 3 hours ago
    238
  • 40
  • W@W captain walker (axis)vs dawgoneit

    4 days ago
    275
  • crockett vs dawgoneit oob

    3 days ago
    90
  • crockett36 vs myygames A+6 oob

    about 2 hours ago
    100
  • Dawg v Entek W@W! redemption

    about 7 hours ago
    235
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

35

Online

17.6k

Users

40.2k

Topics

1.7m

Posts