@axis_roll:
@swordsman3003:
Small question:
Under LHTR, or under AARe rules, can subs be taken as casualties in of air attacks?
Like if Germany builds nothing in the baltic on G1 and UK attacks with 2 fighters and 1 bomber, can the Germans choose to take the subs as casualties first? I tried to figure this out from reading the rules but I must have overlooked it.
I am assuming your example has the German Destroyer and Transport remaining in SZ5. Let’s say Germany adds 3 subs, so in SZ5, there is 3 subs, tpt, dd. If UK attacks with 2 ftrs, bomber, Germany can choose to submerge the subs BEFORE UK attacks as to not lose any subs if UK got three hits on their attack. This is because there is no attacking DD involved, so subs get an opening fire shot and then can submerge. Since subs can not hit planes, then there are no sub opening fire shots.
Or Germany can keep the subs in the battle, see what UK rolls, and then determine hits. These CAN be allocated to the subs if Germany wants to lose the subs. At the end of each round of battle, since there is not enemy destroyers, the subs can submerge.
Also, in Enhanced (AARe), these submerged subs can not cause Convoy Raid damage against the UK IC in London.
Let me know if I have not adequately answered your question.
This answer is perfect; thank you.
Another question:
To what distance to a fighter’s range extend when it is on an AC? I’m familiar with the doctrine that the AC “cannot expand the range of the fighter” but one circumstance confuses me:
Germany has an AC in Gibraltar with a fighter on it. Germany has an empty AC in the North Sea. This means the fighter could move 3 to get to UK, and then 1 to land on the other AC, so moving the fighter in to attack is justified.
However, after the battle is over, could you land the fighter back on the first AC anyways in sea zone 7 off of western europe after the first AC moves? Although that AC did not expand the range of the fighter, if the north sea AC wasn’t there this move would be illegal.
This confuses me.