Generally speaking powers defend together. However in G40 there are powers that start off neutral (Russia and USA) or not at war with each other (like Japan and UK/France). You could have a case at sea when you attack a sz with units from multiple powers, and can ignore the units that belong to a power that you aren’t yet at war with.
Question about placing units in hostile sea zone
-
As far as I understand, it is possible to mobilize new units even in hostile sea zones, but what then happens on my opponents turn? Are his units stuck and forced to conduct combat, or are they free to move out of the hostile sea zone?
-
They can use their combat move to leave that sea zone. It is one of the few instances where a combat move doesn’t have to result in combat.
-
Thanks. But do you have a reference from the rulebook (to settle the discussion we had)? We just couldn’t find it. It would also be interesting to hear of other combat moves that doesn’t result in combat (other than attacking empty hostile territories).
-
Rulebook Europe 1940 second edition page 14 left column top of page will give you the information that you seek.