This makes no sense. Japan controls Philippines at start. The only US forces are in Hawaii. This is Milton Bradley Edition, not global
Attacking sub withdrawl after a naval victory?
-
Bossk,
The text “if all units are hit” appears only in step 8, AFTER step 7 which is the chance for sub withdrawl. Since step 8 begins with the sentence “Repeat above steps 2 to 7 until…” It seems to me that you do not test to see if the battle is over until AFTER sub withdrawl.
Zero
[ This Message was edited by: zero on 2002-06-15 17:48 ]
-
Zero - I now see your point after reviewing the rules and combat steps. I checked the AAMC rules and clarifications and it is not addressed. I think this may be legal taking the rules most literally. It is generally assumed that after the defender is eliminated step 7 was ignored in the case of attacking subs still in the embattled sea zone. I got that feeling the game designer didn’t see this one coming…
-
Zero, you have a great argument and I would play with your rules style anytime. However, I can’t say the same for the majority of players out there. Maybe you should contact AAMC personally on it.
-
:lol:
-
Ok, see it in the AAMC clarifications now. I missed it somehow. Games outside club rules could still challenge this though…
-
Thanks for the clear up :razz:
-
So I guess they can’t retreat. That would be really nice if they could, especially if you’re Japan knocking out America’s navy and hten want to retreat to safety.
-
Guys,
Here’s a really fun house rule that my friends and I play by:
If subs are present on both sides of a naval battle at the end of a round, then the defensive subs may submerge, but the battle continues between the subs. You shouldn’t be able to submerge against another sub, right? So just let the subs duke out a seperate battle below the other naval and air units.
-
If you looking for “historical correctness,” those opposing subs shouldn’t even have been dukin’ it out in the first place. In WWII you rarely (if ever) saw any sub vs sub battles due to their impossibility. The only way I think this would be feasible is if you waited for the other sub to be forced to surface (for oxygen) first before firing.
As far as sub rules go, I play with a couple, especially when it comes to detection (though these would require destroyers). However two I like to play with is sub-pens and wolf packs. For anyone interested:
Wolf-packs
If 3 or more Subs attack together, they obtain wolf-pack status and one sub (the leader) adds 1 to its attack value.Sub-Pens
A sub may choose to remain inactive by using it’s non-combat phase to dock in a sub-pen (any coastal territory under the team’s control with an IC). That sub is considered “submerged,” until the beginning of that player’s next turn. -
okay, fair enough on the AAMG ruling. It does seems rather silly though. I mean why would the sub lose its ability to withdraw because it was completely victorious? I guess the crew stops the ship and throws a party, until the enemy planes show up ;)
-
Zero - without an official ruling from the game creators or MB, I’d say use it as a house rule…
-
The rule clarifications that come with all the second edition rules that I’ve seen atate pretty clearly that if an attacking sub clears the zone of enemy units it cannot retreat or withdraw.
-
I think the ‘withdraw’ option if you look at it in a time frame perspective goes like this:
When subs withdraw, they do it while the battle continues. So when they don’t get to withdraw at the end of the battle, it’s not like they ‘sat around’ afterwards for a while doing nothing… they were actually fighting in the battle the whole time instead. But… if the battle continues, they use that time to slip away. If they slipped away AFTER the battle was over, it would illegally extend their movement, because they would be using a round of game time that doesn’t exist.
Make sense?
-
If you are looking for historic accuracy with subs this game is way off. Subs sunk about 90% of the tonnage in the pacific in WWII and almost all of that was transports. Subs did not go after destroyers, battleships and other warships, because it was too dangerous. Also almost all of the transports were sunk with deck guns and would have had a hard time finding each other underwater, much less hitting each other with torpedos.
-
P. 17 2nd edition rules:
Submarine “can withdraw from a battle after ANY round of firing”.
I guess that includes the last round. :o -
Didn’t read the clarification. :oops:
-
I’m with Scotty, he got it EXACTLY right! So beam me up.
-
Checking the rules or deciding to play a rules variation shortens these arguments.
Thyis was a lotta posts for a simple topic! -
Do you have a problem with a lot of posts? A lot of people :wink: like to post just for the sake of posting.
-
“Whut you talkin’ 'bout, Willis?”
Re: Sub rules … keep in mind that all SUBS retreating on the same round of battle must retreat to the same sz(through which at least one attacking unit entered the battle.) :roll: