Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)

  • '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    I have a question

    Axis forces perform a heroic amphibious assault against a territory occupied by plutocrat scum.  We move the fleet 1 sea zone and then attack with a carrier, planes, destroyers, and transports unload during combat movement phase.  The undermench have an airbase bordering the sea zone but they decide NOT to scramble so there is NO NAVAL BATTLE.  Afterward, can the fleet (except the transports that unloaded) move out of the sea zone in noncombat movement phase?  Secondly, if there had been a cruiser or battleship in the fleet and there was a shore bombardment, would we be able to move in NCM?  Would the carriers, planes and destroyers move and leave the battleship/cruiser stay with the transports?

    thank you

  • '22 '21 '20 '17 '15

    The fleet can’t move in both combat and non-combat movement phases regardless of anything else happening.  The planes could of course keep moving if you wanted in non-com to land though.

    If the fleet started in the sea zone where the amphibious assault, then they could move out if there was no sea battle.  If there was bombardment, then the bombarding ships would be stuck but the rest should be able to move in NCM.


  • Great answer by Snigg

  • '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    OK thanks guys

  • '21 '18 '16

    Rules clarification needed. If UK owns Northwest Persia prior to DOW by Germany against USSR, can USSR move troops into Northwest Persia prior to DOW? Or must they mass on Caucasus and wait to assault Iraq.


  • The political situation rules for USSR refer to page 15, where in the blue sidebar it says that while neutral (USSR is neutral on the Europe map in your scenario), it can’t move units into or through territories belonging to another power (along with other restrictions)

    NW Persia belongs to another power, so USSR is not allowed until at war with Italy or Germany
    (USSR can’t move to NW Persia when it is neutral either, so in other words USSR can never leave USSR until at war)

  • '21 '18 '16

    Thank you for the clarification Gamerman. That is what I thought but wanted to clarify before next Thursday’s 3 day gaming binge begins.


  • Sure, any time

  • '19 '17 '16

    Rule clarification please:

    Sea battle including subs. 1 sub remains from the attacker, defender has some air units remaining. Can the attacker retreat because the defender still has units which can fire, or is that rule nullified because they can’t fire at the remaining attacker unit?


  • @simon33:


    Can the attacker retreat because the defender still has units which can fire,

    This part is correct.

    The rulebook says:

    @rulebook:

    Air units can hit submarines only if a friendly destroyer is
    in the battle.

    and
    @rulebook:

    Can’t Be Hit by Air Units: When attacking or defending,
    hits scored by air units can’t be assigned to submarines
    unless there is a destroyer that is friendly to the air units
    in the battle.

    So this is a “can’t hit”-rule and not a “can’t shoot” rule.
    In other words: The submarine does not cancel the ability of air units to fire.

    Additionally, there is no rule that cancels the submarine’s ability to shoot.
    It is a “can’t hit”-rule, too:

    @rulebook:

    Can’t Hit Air Units: When attacking or defending,
    submarines can’t hit air units.

    HTH :-)

  • Official Q&A

    @P@nther:

    @simon33:


    Can the attacker retreat because the defender still has units which can fire,

    This part is correct.

    The rulebook says:

    @rulebook:

    Air units can hit submarines only if a friendly destroyer is
    in the battle.

    and
    @rulebook:

    Can’t Be Hit by Air Units: When attacking or defending,
    hits scored by air units can’t be assigned to submarines
    unless there is a destroyer that is friendly to the air units
    in the battle.

    So this is a “can’t hit”-rule and not a “can’t shoot” rule.
    In other words: The submarine does not cancel the ability of air units to fire.

    Additionally, there is no rule that cancels the submarine’s ability to shoot.
    It is a “can’t hit”-rule, too:

    @rulebook:

    Can’t Hit Air Units: When attacking or defending,
    submarines can’t hit air units.

    HTH :-)

    Sorry, P@nther, but that’s incorrect.  The attacker cannot retreat, as the battle is over.  From page 20 of the Europe Rulebook (italics are mine):

    Once all units that can either fire at a valid target or retreat on one or both sides have been destroyed, the combat ends.


  • @Krieghund:


    Sorry, P@nther, but that’s incorrect.  The attacker cannot retreat, as the battle is over.  From page 20 of the Europe Rulebook (italics are mine):

    Once all units that can either fire at a valid target or retreat on one or both sides have been destroyed, the combat ends.

    The text in my rulebook is different, Sir! It says:

    @rulebook:

    Once all units that can either fire or retreat on one or both
    sides have been destroyed, the combat ends.

    It’s the same text in my Pacific 1940 2nd Edition rulebook.
    And there is no such addition in the latest FAQ (Nov. 24, 2014), either.

    When did the “at a valid target” get in?
    Are there any other changes we are possibly not aware of?


  • I think that’s what he meant by “italics are mine”? - he was acknowledging those words are not in the rulebook

    It does make sense - it is consistent with the concept that you can’t retreat from nothing, you can’t attack with carriers and transports only, you can’t retreat from an AAA gun only, you can’t retreat from transports only….
    You can’t retreat from air only when you are down to subs

    Not that it has to make sense

  • Official Q&A

    It’s a clarification that was made in the latest posted Rulebook.  “Italics are mine” means that I added the italics for emphasis - the text is not italic in the rules.


  • @P@nther:

    Are there any other changes we are possibly not aware of?


  • @Krieghund:

    …  “Italics are mine” means that I added the italics for emphasis - the text is not italic in the rules.

    That is how I understood it.

    Anyway, how can we know when a new version with new clarifications or rule changes is published? It has never been brought to our attention.
    It would be great if we could get some information about that in the future.
    I would never have thought that there could be changes/additions in the rulebooks that had not been in the FAQ before or been announced in this forum…

    Are all of the FAQ-contents now present in the rulebooks, too?

    However - it looks like we all have to download the latest versions of the rulebooks (496 MB!) now…  :wink:

    Thank you for that clarification.  :-)


  • @P@nther:

    @Krieghund:

    …  “Italics are mine” means that I added the italics for emphasis - the text is not italic in the rules.

    That is how I understood it.

    He was responding to me because I foolishly spoke for him, saying he was acknowledging that those words were not in the rulebook,

    because I did not expect that they would have made any little wording changes like that in a brand new rulebook that looks exactly the same, that none of us knew about.

    Now again, we need to know if there are any OTHER little subtle changes, as P@nther originally asked

  • '19 '17 '16

    @Krieghund:

    It’s a clarification that was made in the latest posted Rulebook.  “Italics are mine” means that I added the italics for emphasis - the text is not italic in the rules.

    My reader has a hissy fit at this 200MB file. It works, but slowly. FWIW.


  • @Gamerman01:


    Now again, we need to know if there are any OTHER little subtle changes, as P@nther originally asked

    Yes, indeed. I just realized that the new PDF-files for 1914, 1941 and 1942SE are different from the ones originally provided by AH, too.
    So maybe there are additions or changes as well….

    I just don’t have the time to compare them all, at the moment.

  • Official Q&A

    I didn’t tell you before because I didn’t know they had been posted.  We made those changes months ago (in some cases, years ago) in anticipation of a future reprint, but no one told me they were about to be posted on the website.  I have checked back periodically to see if they had been, so it must have been done fairly recently.  In any case, there shouldn’t be any big surprises, as all of the changes are clarifications (most of them arising from questions asked on this site) and inclusions of FAQ material.

    When I get a chance, I’ll go through my notes and post a complete list of changes.

Suggested Topics

  • 3
  • 9
  • 7
  • 54
  • 6
  • 14
  • 3
  • 12
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

82

Online

17.5k

Users

40.1k

Topics

1.7m

Posts