19. Waffen-#4 Assault Pioneer:

From the early days of World War 1I, Waffen-4$$
Assault Pioneer units took part in most of the attacks
that were launched by the German Army.

The training and equipment of the Waffen-$# Assault
Pioneer units gave them an advantage in combat
compared to the other Combat Engineer units.

Attack: 3

Defense: 4

Move: 2

Cost: +2

Maximum on game board: 2
Enter game from: Late 1940

A Combat Engineer unit that is already in Berlin
(Germany) from a previous round can be
transformed to a Waffen-#% Assault Pioneer unit -
same procedure as for other Waffen-## units.

A Waffen-## Assault Pioneer unit cannot be
transported by sea zones but it can be transported
by Air Transport or by Strategic Rail Movement.

A Waffen-## Assault Pioneer unit counts as a Tank
unit for transport purposes.

The Waffen-## Assault Pioneer unit operates under
Combat Engineer unit rules with a few exceptions.

Exception 1:

A Waffen-## Assault Pioneer unit can move by its
own capacity across a sea zone in the same way as a
Landing Craft unit.

When this movement begins in a territory with a
friendly Naval Base, the Waffen-## Assault Pioneer
unit can move 2 sea zones - same rule as with
Landing Craft units.

The movement must begin on land - then enter a
sea zone (or 2 sea zones) that are cleared from any
enemy surface ships including enemy Transport
units - and then end the movement on land.

This movement can occur during Combat Movement
or Non-Combat Movement.

Note 1:

When a Waffen-## Assault Pioneer unit moves
across a sea zone it cannot transport any other unit
during this maneuver.

Note 2:

A Waffen-## Assault Pioneer unit attacks at “4” when
it is supported by a Waffen-## Artillery unit during
an attack - as long as the Waffen-#4 Assault Pioneer
unit doesn’t perform any other task this turn.

1. Increased Mobility:
When a Waffen-#% Assault Pioneer unit is moving 2
spaces by land during the Combat Movement phase
it can transport 1 of the following units during this
movement:

- Infantry

- Elite Infantry

- Artillery

If the Waffen-## Assault Pioneer unit did not move
during the Combat Movement phase, it can move up
to 2 spaces by land during the Non-Combat
Movement phase - and can transport 1 of the
following units during this movement:

- Infantry

- Elite Infantry

- Artillery

- Antiaircraft Artillery

- Landing Craft

2. Special Movement Task:

During the Non-Combat Movement phase the
Waffen-#% Assault Pioneer unit can perform a
Special Movement Task:

An undamaged Minor Industrial Complex can be
transported up to 2 spaces by land. It requires 2
Waffen-#% Assault Pioneer units to carry out this
movement.

This movement must follow the same rule that
applies for Combat Engineer units.

3. Blitz Movement:

A Waffen-## Assault Pioneer unit can perform a Blitz
Movement on its own.

During a Blitz Movement the Waffen-## Assault
Pioneer unit cannot transport any other unit.



4. Enemy Landmines:

All rules concerning the Waffen-#% Assault Pioneer
unit and Enemy Landmines must follow the same
rules that apply for Combat Engineer units.

5. Landmines:

All rules concerning the Waffen-#% Assault Pioneer
unit and Landmines must follow the same rules that
apply for Combat Engineer units.

6. Landing Strip Construction:

All rules concerning the Waffen-#% Assault Pioneer
unit and Landing Strip Construction must follow the
same rules that apply for Combat Engineer units.

Note 3:

Only 1 Waffen-## Assault Pioneer unit or Combat
Engineer unit can carry out Landing Strip
Construction in each territory.

The general rule is that a Waffen-## Assault Pioneer
unit can carry out only 1 of the following tasks in
each turn:

1. Increased Mobility: transport another land unit
2. Special Movement Task: movement of a Minor
Industrial Complex

3. Blitz Movement: perform a Blitz Movement
attack on its own

4. Enemy Landmines: removing an enemy or
friendly Landmine

5. Landmines: transport up to 3 Landmines and
place them at any border

6. Landing Strip Construction: prepare a landing
site for an Air Unit

7. Movement across Sea Zones: can attack or
move across sea zones in the same way as a
Landing Craft unit

8. Part of a Waffen-# Army: when a Waffen-##
Assault Pioneer unit is part of a Waffen-## Army it
cannot perform any other task - and must fight as
part of that Army as any other Waffen-## unit.

Note 4:

When a Waffen-## Assault Pioneer unit performs
tasks no. 1, 2, 4, 5 and 6 the Waffen-## Assault
Pioneer unit’s attack factor is eliminated in that
round.

Waffen-#%% Assault Pioneer units lost in combat can
be reproduced.




